Autumn, the year’s last, loveliest smile

Today is September 30, which means tomorrow is Oktober, which means we can now say that it is and feels officially autumn, which means I can’t be more excited then I am right now.

As you may or may not know, autumn is hands down my favourite time of the year. I have to admit that this post is one of those ‘spur of the moment’ posts again. I was at school today and as I was bored I was looking out the window and I got so excited by what I saw; I saw leaves falling down! I actually wanted to jump up and scream: ‘It’s finally autumn everyone!’ while holding my fist into the air as a sort of sign of victory, or whatever. Don’t worry, I didn’t do it. As I was on my way home later that day, I saw even more leaves falling down and more trees turning orange. Because of all this, I decided to write a little bonus blogpost on what I love about autumn so all of you can get just as excited as I am!

The first and probably the most important thing I love about autumn has to be being on my way home from school and hearing the leaves crisp under my bicycle tires and feeling the autumn breeze on my face. I don’t know where you’re all from and if you even know what I mean but here in Holland, in the beginning of autumn, the temperatures are perfect; it’s not warm but also not cold, there is a nice breeze and if you’re lucky the sun is shining for you as well.

I don’t know if this is just me but as soon as I have bought cozy jumpers and sweaters, I want to wear them. Usually there is my mum saying it is way to warm for that but whenever it is officially autumn (September 23, the date is in my diary) I will say: ‘No, it is officially autumn now so I can go and where my cozy jumpers no matter what!’ Don’t you just love to wear a sweater and hide your hands in the sleeves to keep them warm?

Not only do I love to wear my good ol’ oversized knitwear, I also love to reach out to my kneehigh socks for autumn. Whenever it’s not too cold yet, I love to wear a skater skirt, paired with a nice jumper or cardigan and to keep me even warmer, I wear my kneehigh socks. I actually wore this outfit not too long ago, in fact it was two days ago. You probably know this but at school you always have these people who just have a lack of style and laugh about everything and everyone that dares to be different. So I got some looks and eyes on me that day but I felt good in what I was wearing and I liked my outfit and in my opinion it doesn’t matter what you are wearing, you could be walking around in a garbage bag, as long as you walk confidently and look like you actually know what you’re doing, you will look great in it.

As the time goes, it is getting colder and colder until the day comes where you can reach out to that special part of your wardrobe where all your scarfs and mittens are waiting for you to be worn. I’ve got these way to big, white, knitted mittens and I can’t even wear them without them almost falling of my hands, that’s how big they are, but that’s just what I love about them. I have had them for ages now and I will keep them for even longer.

Whenever you go on WeHeartIt and you search for #autumn or #fall (which I would highly recommend, I can spend hours after hours looking on that tag) the thing that you’ll see the most is books, blankets, candles and hot chocolat. Preferably all together in one. Don’t you dare tell me that you don’t love to get all snuggled up in a blanket, while wearing your favourite pair of Christmas leggings, warmest sweater and thickest socks, candles all burning, while reading a good book and drinking a nice cup of hot chocolate with marshmallows or whipped cream. (or both if you’re like me)

Last, but definitely not least, I love to have these long walks in the forrest with my dog, surrounded by red trees, the sound of crisping leaves under my winter boots and the smell of autumn and wet leaves. Whenever I smell that one specific smell I always go back to the time I was little and used to walk around in my wellies and a two sizes too big coat while collecting leaves and chestnuts. (just imagine that in your head, it’s so cute, I can’t bear it) After that walk, when you are all cold and your cheeks are all flushed (no blush needed!) you go back inside to sit by the fire and drink a cup of hot chocolate once again.

While writing all of this I got even more excited then I was already! What is your favourite thing about autumn or fall? Let me know in the comments! Also, tell me if you’d like me to do a post about my favourite autumn make-up look because I’d love to do that!

Toodlepip!

 

Leave a Reply

