Internet Hate

I was actually going to write a review today, but then a certain blogpost came to my attention. I was just scrolling down some blogs, just like I usually do, until I saw this blogpost, from Zoe (aka Zoella) and it was all about internet hate and how much she received it recently. Reading that post just broke my heart. If you haven’t read that post then please do because otherwise you probably won’t understand what I am talking about here, Here is a little link for you to the post.

As you may or may not know, I am a huge fan of Zoe’s Youtube channel and blog. Her posts and videos are so creative and you can see that she puts so incredibly much effort into them to make them as good as possible. All of that effort paid off and now she has over 6 million subscribers. As much as she is getting love and support from people, she is also receiving hate, a lot of it. Not only are those people making nasty comments on Zoe herself, also about her friends and the people she loves. If I’d have to put myself in her place, I can understand that that is one of the most horrible feelings in the world.

As she explains in her post, Youtube and her blog have always been her happy place, it was just her thing that made her happy, the thing that she loved doing so much. If you follow Zoe on a regular basis, you know that she suffers from anxiety and panic attacks until the point where she was so sad that she didn’t want to be doing anything anymore. In that way, Zoe and I share our story. I am not talking about that too much now, if you want to know more about it, you can do that by clicking here. I also had my moment in life in which I was depressed, sad, feeling worthless and helpless. Just like Zoe, writing on a blog helped me through that and it made me enjoy life more. Now that people are hating so much on Zoe, she explains that at one point she was scared to go and scroll through her comments on her videos. Those people took away Zoe’s happy place, her source of happiness. If there is one person to understand how cruel and heartless that is, it is me.

Fortunately, I haven’t got any hate yet. All the comments I am getting so far from you guys are more than positive and that makes me more than happy. But then I start thinking, what would happen if that was taken away from me? What would I do if all the positivity, all of a sudden, would change into negativity? What would I do if my happy place would be taken away from me? I honestly wouldn’t know..

Not only are those people taking away a part of Zoe’s happiness, they are also taking away someone else’s. Because of the hate, Zoe stopped daily vlogging. I know that for some people those daily vlogs are their happy moment, watching those videos can put a smile on so many people’s faces, the people who need it the most. I know that those videos are, for some people, their way of coping with their own problems, their get away, their only source of positivity in life. Taking that away from someone is the most cruel thing someone can do.

I have had my days in which everything was going wrong and I needed an escape from reality. That is when I would go over on Youtube, watching daily vlogs, not only Zoe’s, but everyone’s. My mum always tells me to live my own life but sometimes I just can’t, sometimes people need an escape from their worries, their problems, and escape from the pain they feel inside. ”She built up a world of magic because her real life was tragic.” Now I do have to say that Zoe’s vlogs were not the one thing that made me happy and I can easily live without, but I know that there are people who can’t. They depend their happiness and maybe even their whole life on videos like that. Just those short 20 minute videos can make someone’s day. Why take that away from them?

I just wanted to write this post to vent, in some sort of way. I just can’t stand it that some people don’t think of the consequences of their actions. Just as Zoe says in her post:

“Every time you post something online, you have a choice. You can make people happy or take away their happiness. Just a thought”

It’s just so true. If you have a choice in making someone smile or cry that day, what would you choose? If you’re one of those people who go for making someone happy, choosing positivity over negativity, then chances are you make a lot of people happy, including yourself. Because if you spread love, you’ll receive love.

I just want to say that I truly hope that Zoe will never stop doing the things that make her happy. I hope that she will never let anyone take the happy feeling she gets from making videos. And to all the people who indeed depend their happiness on her videos, or someone else’s videos or even something completely different; never let someone take away your source of happiness, your reason to smile and wake up every morning. Whatever it is that makes you glad you’re alive, stay close to it and never let go.

Toodlepip

2 thoughts on “Internet Hate

  1. 2chanelforyou

    omg SAME ! I read her post yesterday and discussed it so “much” with a friend, because it just disgusts me that people actually enjoy sending hate and destroying one’s happiness. Just like you, I used to follow Zoe’s vlogs on a daily basis (and I loooved them) + I still watch Alfie’s and all. But already there you see, that Alfie’s also starting to get more and more annoyed by all those ‘stupid’ comments and I’m actually “afraid” that he’ll also stop vlogging, because as you said : those videos actually make my days better. It just feels like I’m actually spending the day, there, with them, in that country I’ve always wanted to visit/live in and it’s such a great way to escape from school stress and stuff!
    So yeah, happy to see that someone out there shares nearly the exact same opinion as me on this subject and P.S. : actually love how you approached this theme (: xx

    Like

    • annespruijt

      Thank you so much! I absolutely agree with you about the whole school thing and feeling like you spend the day with them. I really hope that he won’t stop making daily vlogs.. but thank you for your comment, I love to read what other people think of what I write, I am glad you liked it (: ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

