Funfetti Cupcakes

Today I thought I would do something, I have never done before. Now that autumn (or fall depending on where you come from) is coming around, I am starting to look up more recipe’s and baking ideas and recently I found a recipe called ‘Funfetti Cupcakes’. These cupcakes are, in all honesty, nothing more than normal cupcakes with some colourful sprinkles add to them, but nevertheless, they do look cute.

The recipe that I had found was quite a long one, in fact, I actually skipped the majority to keep it simple as I am not a good baker at all! That’s why I wanted to share the easier and way quicker recipe for Funfetti Cupcakes with you guys!

What you’ll need

  • 125g caster sugar
  • 125g self raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 125g butter
  • ¼ teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 ½ tablespoons of milk
  • ¼ teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • buttercream icing (didn’t make this myself, lazy as I am. just bought a dr. oetker one)
  • colourful sprinkles (as many as you like)

How to make the cupcakes

Before you start baking, you want to preheat your oven on 170 degrees celsius. After doing that, the first thing you want to put in the bowl is your butter. Make sure this is room temperature, it will be a lot easier to mix! Next throw in your sugar, flower and eggs. Make sure you don’t get any shell in your mixture. (‘there’s shell in that one!!!’ comment if you know where this is from ;D) After that, you add the milk, baking soda and the vanilla extract. For all the exact measurements, check the ingredients above. Now you want to mix this all together. Start of slow to get everything together, and build up your speed to get a nice mixture.

Now that you have a normal cupcake mixture, we are going to add the sprinkles to make it a Funfetti Cupcake mixture! You can add as many sprinkles as you like. I used quite a lot, but when I cut my cupcake in half, I wished I had used even more. So for full effect, I would recommend you add more than you would usually do. Once you’ve done that, just mix the sprinkles through the mixture.

Now you want to get your mixture in the cupcake cases. I decided to buy these dotted once because I thought it would match the pop of colour in the cupcakes but obviously, this step is totally up to you. You can be all cool and proffesional and use an icecream scoop to get your mixture in the cases, but you can also be less cool like me, and just use two spoons..

Now that you have done this, all you want to do is pop them in the oven for around 20 minutes until your cupcakes have a golden/brown colour.

_DSC1688

How to do the icing

As I said earlier, I did not make my icing myself, because I am simply too lazy to do so. I just bought a Dr. Oetker icing pack, which already included a piping bag. When putting the icing on top of your cupcakes, it’s important to make sure that your cupcakes are completely cooled down, otherwise it will just melt off.

! Start icing the cupcakes on the furthest side and work closer to you. This way you won’t make a mess of it.

! Start icing in the middle of your cupcake and make a circle outwards. Then make your way in again to create the top.

! Add the sprinkles right after icing one cupcake. You don’t want to dry out the icing and make it not sticky enough for the sprinkles to stick to it. This is where I went wrong. In an attempt to fix this I mixed together icing sugar and a little bit of water and spread that over the original icing as a ‘glue’ so that the sprinkles would stick.


Once you did all of this, you are ready to enjoy your Funfetti Cupcakes! If you want to read more baking/recipe’s from me, let me know in the comments!

Toodlepip!

_DSC1624

Leave a Reply

