Autumn Style // the grunge aesthetic

I feel like I simply cannot write a blogpost without having said anything about the American elections from today. I am not an American. I do not know anyone who lives in America, at least not personally. That makes writing this a bit strange. It almost makes me feel like an intruder. I know that I am not an American nor do I know all the finest details about the situation, however, as an outsider, there is something I want to say.

If I would have been an American the day everyone went out to vote, I would not have voted for Trump. Because of the simple fact that he has certain beliefs and opinion that I do not agree with. Not that I fully agree with everything Clinton has to say, but like the Doctor once said; sometimes the only choices you have are bad ones, but you still have to choose. So yes, in this case, I would have been with her. But the thing is, saying this has no more use, no more utility. What’s done is done and there is nothing we can do apart from looking forward.

So to everyone who voted for Trump; good for you. For everyone who didn’t; I’m so sorry. I get your fear, I get your anxiety and I get your distress. You have all the right to feel that way. All I really want to say to you is this: hold on, be strong, because things won’t be bad forever. Just be who you want to be and be proud. Don’t let anyone ever tell you who should or shouldn’t be. I am not American nor do I know a lot about America, however there is one thing I do know. I know that Trump and everyone who stands behind him will never be strong enough to take away America’s freedom. The freedom to be whoever you want to be. To believe whatever you want to believe and to go where ever it is that you want to go. Don’t let anyone take that right away from you.

To everyone, all around the world; whether you support Trump, or Hillary, or neither, or whether you don’t really care about these elections, we can all learn something from this. We may not have the power to change the world or to get the president we want, but we do have the power to change ourselves. So to everyone; stay alive, hold on, be strong, be kind, be you and be proud. Be the change you want to see in the world. After all, that is all we can do.


With that being said, I feel like I can now talk about something less significant. If you know me or you follow my instagram, you might know that I am in love with everything grunge and everything space. So this outfit, I would say, is very much me. It is not really Dutch-Autumn proof, but these pictures were taken on my recent holiday in Spain. If I were to wear this outfit in Holland right now, I would most likely freeze to death

img-20161105-wa0003img-20161105-wa0001

img-20161105-wa0016img-20161105-wa0023

Toodlepip! xx


Top: DIY (Josh Dun inspired lol) – Jeans: The Sting – Shoes: Adidas – Socks: H&M (man’s department, again, lol) – Choker: H&M

Leave a Reply

